The History of Dubuque County, Iowa, Containing a History of the County, its Cities, Towns, &
Biographical Sketches of Citizens, War Record of its Volunteers in the late Rebellion, General and Local Statistics, Portraits of Early Settlers and...
Welch, Adonijah Strong, 1821-1889; Presidents' papers; Iowa State University presidents; Presidents' family relationships
Box 1, Folder 5: Contains correspondence about members of Adonijah and Mary Welch's family, correspondence by descendents, obituaries, and brief histories. Correspondents primarily include A. B. Shaw and Winifred Dudley Shaw.
Welch, Adonijah Strong, 1821-1889; Speeches; Presidents' papers; Iowa State University presidents; Curriculum development; Higher education; Technical education
Box 2, Folder 17: A speech given by Welch before the State Association of Principals of Graded Schools in Iowa City on July 27, 1878. He discusses differences between the old and new theories of education and curricula. He asserts that in order...
Welch, Adonijah Strong, 1821-1889; Speeches; Presidents' papers; Iowa State University presidents; Education; Technical education; Agricultural education
Box 2, Folder 18: A speech given by Welch about the need for higher education to concentrate more on practical, scientific education rather than the disciplines traditionally studied in the past. (Missing pages 1, 18-19, 21, 54, 83-84,93)
Welch, Mary B. (Mary Beaumont), 1840-1923 ; Iowa State College Department of Domestic Economy ; Home economics ; Cooking ; Domestic life ; Women--Education ; Home economics teachers ; Technical education
Describes the beginning of the Department of Domestic Economy, how Mary Welch pursuaded President Welch and the Board of Trustees that the department was needed, how she prepared for the position, and her training in cookery.
Snedecor, George W. (George Waddel), 1881-1974 ; Coover, Mervin S., 1890-1976; statisticians; engineers
Announces the designation of Coover Hall (formerly Electrical Engineering Building ) and Snedecor Hall (formerly Service Building) after professors Mervin Coover and George Snedecor. Includes brief biographies of both.